Love in our backyard

18 Jun

I feel philosophically compelled to share what’s been going on in my head lately.

Lately, I have almost completely turned my focus to recording.  I have written just 2 songs (that I consider to be “done”) since the end of March, and still have about 20 other tidbits floating around in my notebook.  While I guess this is technically writer’s block, because it’s been undoubtedly an inability to finish these songs, I have been considering it more a turning point.  Never in my life have I been so liberal with what I let out of my head and onto paper, but never have I been so choosy about what I do with it once it’s there. Most people would find this frustrating, but I feel like I’ve become more in tune with what I’m looking for, and less concerned with deadlines.

I guess what I’m really trying to say is that because FdS has about 15 solid songs that I can whole-heartedly back, that I don’t feel down about not having finished very many, or very pressed about writing more.  Quite the contrary; I have become more laissez-faire, and I have no doubt that once I finish these songs that they are going to blow people’s minds.  I don’t mean this to sound cocky, rather, I am coming to the point that I’m so selective about the songs I’m writing that what I finally do finish is really blowing my mind as well.

Thus, I have a completely new approach to writing songs, where I take my sweet time perfecting each line of each verse, and creating the songs meticulously verse by verse.  It sounds persnickety and arduous, (and…well…it is), but I’m not sure how long it will last, and I am really enjoying the results.  My songs are moving in a really awesome direction; one in which I am extremely confident.

“Forgive Me”, “French Girl”, “Turn to Dust”, “Cal-euphoria”, “Wicked and I Want You”, “You Caught Me Dancing”; the titles I’ve been working on. And all I’ve been listening to is The Beach Boys and Surfer Blood, so that’s a good hint enough as to where things are going.

And there’s love in our backyard when I get home

-xoxoxox

