Maybe 2

26 Mar

“I can hear your heartbeat but I know you well enough not to speak
When you’re at it again, you smile at me, and I’m on your list
You give me the look, and I’m off of it…”

For as long as I have been pursuing music, the phrase “Layter, Maybe” has perplexed, fascinated, and intrigued me.  I wrote a song “Layter 1” in the summer of 2007, I carved out the first part of my musical thesis, if you will.  Almost 2 and a half years later, I finished a final version of it’s counterpart, “Maybe 2”.  This idea has been in the back of my head for a long time.

For me, the phrase “layter, maybe” has so much gravity, specifically “maybe”.  “Maybe” is a little word with a whole lot of weight.  It seems like so many aspects of life constantly hang on “maybe”.  It’s suspenseful, scary, exciting, and intriguing all at the same time.  I feel like it almost has a negative connotation to it.  “Maybe” is generally a cop-out for saying no, or just a way to leave the situation ambiguous.  It’s sort of scary to me how versatile the word is.

In the context of the song “Maybe 2”, it is a maybe carrying all the optimism, hope, and positive energy into the universe that I have.  Maybe someday all the loose ends will come together, maybe someday life will work out the way things “should”, and I know everyone has a way that things “should” be.  Because of how versatile the word is, it not only carries my optimism, it carries the doubt and the fear.  The doubt and fear that has been instilled in me by the world outside.  The fear that acting too soon or saying the wrong things will interfer with the way that things “should” be.  The fear that you get so close, so close you can hear their heartbeat, and can still have the chance to mess things up.  That is scary.

Thus, this song is just another dot in the great ellipsis of life. But maybe….

xoxoxox
FdS

